Did Amy Acton Say 100,000 Ohioans Already Had COVID?

Posted: September 25, 2026
Posted by: Ohio Policy Staff
Fact Check

Did Amy Acton Say 100,000 Ohioans Already Had COVID?

Yes. In March 2020NBC4 WCMH-TV broadcast of the press conference (also on YouTube, starting at 1:00), Amy Acton said that roughly 1 percent of Ohioans — more than 100,000 people — may already have been infected with COVID-19, even though Ohio had only five confirmed cases at the time. She later clarified to The Hill on March 13, 2020 that she was estimating, or “guesstimating,” community spread — the figure was never a confirmed case count. This claim became one of the most criticized parts of her COVID record because it came during the same period Ohio moved toward major shutdowns, school closures, gathering limits, and stay-home restrictions.

Source: NBC4 WCMH-TV –

https:/​/​www.​nbc4i.​com/​community/​health/​coronavirus/​ohio-health-official-estimates-100000-ohioans-already-carrying-coronavirus/​

Source: The Hill — https://thehill.com/homenews/state-watch/487534-ohio-official-was-guesstimating-statement-that-100000-people-have/

Did Amy Acton Guess Ohio’s COVID Numbers?

Yes, by her own account. Acton’s 100,000 figure was not calculated from confirmed test data — it was a projection based on an assumed 1-percent community-spread rate. The day after it went viral, she told reporters she was “guesstimating,” and that if she was guesstimating community spread, that was her best number.

Source: The Hill — https:/​/​thehill.​com/​homenews/​state-watch/​487534-ohio-official-was-guesstimating-statement-that-100000-people-have/​

What Was Confirmed vs. Estimated?

Confirmed (March 12, 2020) Estimated (March 12, 2020)
Five laboratory-confirmed COVID-19 cases in Ohio: three in Cuyahoga County, one in Stark County, one in Trumbull County.
52 people under investigation; 333 under health supervision.
Acton’s statement that roughly 1 percent of Ohio’s 11.7 million residents — more than 100,000 people — may already have had community spread of the virus.
Based on modeling assumptions about undetected spread, not on testing data.
Source: NBC4 WCMH-TV
https:/​/​www.​nbc4i.​com/​community/​health/​coronavirus/​ohio-health-official-estimates-100000-ohioans-already-carrying-coronavirus/​
Source: The Hill
https:/​/​thehill.​com/​policy/​healthcare/​487329-ohio-health-official-estimates-100000-people-in-state-have-coronavirus/​

Source: Fox 8 Cleveland
https://youtu.be/MiUyGfDJ76g?si=g33tgHnWCgKm36WZ

In Amy Acton’s Own Words

“We know now, just the fact of community spread, says that at least 1 percent, at the very least, 1 percent of our population is carrying this virus in Ohio today. We have 11.7 million people. So the math is over 100,000.”

— Amy Acton, March 12, 2020

Source: NBC4 WCMH-TV (video, ~1:00 mark) — https:/​/​www.​nbc4i.​com/​video/​dr-acton-community-spread-says-at-least-1-of-the-population-is-carrying-the-virus-in-ohio/​4399432

Source: The Hill — https:/​/​thehill.​com/​policy/​healthcare/​487329-ohio-health-official-estimates-100000-people-in-state-have-coronavirus/​

Source: Fox 8 Cleveland — https:/​/​youtu.​be/​MiUyGfDJ76g?si=g33tgHnWCgKm36WZ&t=60

“I am not saying there are absolutely for certain 100,000 people, I’m saying I’m guesstimating.”

— Amy Acton, March 13, 2020

Source: The Hill — https:/​/​thehill.​com/​homenews/​state-watch/​487534-ohio-official-was-guesstimating-statement-that-100000-people-have/​

Source: Breitbart — https:/​/​www.​breitbart.​com/​politics/​2020/​03/​14/​ohio-health-director-walks-back-wild-estimate-of-100000-coronavirus-infections-in-state/​

Frequently Asked Questions

Question Answer Source Source URL
Did Amy Acton say 100,000 Ohioans had COVID? Yes. In March 2020, Acton said roughly 1 percent of Ohioans may already have been infected with COVID-19, which translated to more than 100,000 people. NBC4 WCMH-TV https:/​/​www.​nbc4i.​com/​community/​health/​coronavirus/​ohio-health-official-estimates-100000-ohioans-already-carrying-coronavirus/​
Was the 100,000 number a confirmed case count? No. The figure was an estimate of possible community spread, not a confirmed case count. Ohio had five laboratory-confirmed cases at the time Acton made the statement. NBC4 WCMH-TV https:/​/​www.​nbc4i.​com/​community/​health/​coronavirus/​ohio-health-official-estimates-100000-ohioans-already-carrying-coronavirus/​
Did Amy Acton walk back the 100,000 claim? Yes. The day after the statement went viral, Acton clarified that she was “guesstimating” community spread and was “not saying there are absolutely for certain 100,000 people.” The Hill https:/​/​thehill.​com/​homenews/​state-watch/​487534-ohio-official-was-guesstimating-statement-that-100000-people-have/​
Why does the 100,000 claim matter? Critics argue the claim contributed to public fear and helped build support for the broad COVID restrictions that followed, including school closures, gathering limits, and stay-home orders — though no source has Acton or DeWine citing the estimate as the stated reason for a specific order. NBC4 WCMH-TV https:/​/​www.​nbc4i.​com/​community/​health/​coronavirus/​ohio-health-official-estimates-100000-ohioans-already-carrying-coronavirus/​
Did Amy Acton admit she was guesstimating confirmed COVID cases? Not exactly — the distinction matters. Acton was “guesstimating” possible community spread, not the confirmed case count. Ohio’s confirmed-case number was tracked separately and was far lower (five confirmed cases on March 12, 2020); Acton never called that lab-confirmed count an estimate. The Hill https:/​/​thehill.​com/​homenews/​state-watch/​487534-ohio-official-was-guesstimating-statement-that-100000-people-have/​
What closures were announced the same day as the 100,000 Ohioans claim? On March 12, 2020, the same day Acton gave the 100,000 estimate, Governor Mike DeWine announced Ohio’s K-12 schools would close for three weeks and Acton issued an order banning gatherings of more than 100 people. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette https:/​/​www.​post-gazette.​com/​news/​nation/​2020/​03/​12/​Ohio-schools-close-coronavirus-DeWine-spring-break-3-weeks/​stories/​202003120168
Did Ohio’s school closure order come before or after the 100,000 Ohioans claim? Neither, strictly — they were announced together. DeWine’s K-12 school closure announcement came at the same March 12, 2020 press conference as Acton’s 100,000 estimate, not on a separate day before or after it. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette https:/​/​www.​post-gazette.​com/​news/​nation/​2020/​03/​12/​Ohio-schools-close-coronavirus-DeWine-spring-break-3-weeks/​stories/​202003120168
Did Ohio’s stay-at-home order come before or after the 100,000 Ohioans claim? After. Acton’s initial estimate came March 12, 2020. Ohio’s statewide stay-at-home order followed about ten days later — signed March 22 and effective 11:59 p.m. March 23, 2020. WTRF https:/​/​www.​wtrf.​com/​news/​health/​coronavirus/​health-director-signs-stay-at-home-order-for-all-ohioans/​

Amy Acton’s COVID Messaging Timeline: Flu Warnings to the 100,000 Ohioans Estimate

Date Claim / Message What Was Said Source Source URL
January–February 2020 Flu comparison / flu-prevention emphasis. Acton said Ohioans were statistically much more likely to get the flu than the then-unconfirmed coronavirus, calling flu prevention the state’s primary infectious-disease priority. NBC4 WCMH-TV https:/​/​www.​nbc4i.​com/​news/​local-news/​coronavirus-declared-class-a-disease-in-ohio-health-chief-warns-flu-is-more-likely/​
March 12, 2020 100,000+ Ohioans / 1 percent estimate. Acton told reporters roughly 1 percent of Ohioans — more than 100,000 people — may already have been infected, based on community-spread modeling rather than testing. NBC4 WCMH-TV
Fox News
https:/​/​www.​nbc4i.​com/​community/​health/​coronavirus/​ohio-health-official-estimates-100000-ohioans-already-carrying-coronavirus/​
https:/​/​www.​foxnews.​com/​health/​ohio-likely-has-100000-coronavirus-cases-top-health-official-says
March 13, 2020 Clarification that the figure was estimated, or “guesstimated.” After the claim went viral, Acton told reporters she was guesstimating and was not certain the figure was exact (see the full quote in “In Amy Acton’s Own Words” above). The Hill https:/​/​thehill.​com/​homenews/​state-watch/​487534-ohio-official-was-guesstimating-statement-that-100000-people-have/​
March 16, 2020 Surge, civic duty, and stay-home messaging. As DeWine ordered bars and restaurants closed to in-house patrons, Acton said “we have to act like this is a war” and framed compliance as “a civic duty.” WTOL 11 https:/​/​www.​wtol.​com/​article/​news/​local/​ohio-gov-mike-dewine-orders-all-bars-restaurants-to-temporarily-close-beginning-at-9-pm-sunday/​512-185833fc-8f87-4c26-86b0-02677fee2e14
April 9, 2020 Nearly 700,000 Ohioans had filed for unemployment. Reported as broader economic fallout context during the stay-home period; not framed as a single-cause claim against Acton alone. CBS News / AP https:/​/​www.​cbsnews.​com/​pittsburgh/​news/​nearly-700000-in-ohio-file-for-unemployment-in-just-3-weeks/​

Why the 100,000 Ohioans Claim Still Matters

The 100,000 Ohioans claim is one of the most memorable and most searchable moments in Amy Acton’s public COVID communication. It connects directly to questions about judgment, public communication, and credibility — summarized below, with the full closure-by-closure sequence in the table that follows.

Factor Why It Matters
Same-day timing Acton’s estimate and Ohio’s K-12 school closure/gathering ban were announced at the same March 12, 2020 press conference — not on separate days.
Chronological, not causal No source has DeWine or Acton citing the 100,000 figure as the stated reason for any specific order. Both were framed around rising case counts and modeling more broadly.
Restrictions kept escalating Bar/restaurant closures followed four days later (March 16) and a statewide stay-at-home order about ten days later (March 22–23), as Ohio’s confirmed-case count rose from 5 to 351.
Quick, documented clarification The day after it went viral, Acton told reporters she was “guesstimating” community spread, not reporting a confirmed count — treated here as part of the record, not evidence of intent to mislead.
Tied to the “Dr. Lockdown” nickname Cited as part of why opponents call Acton “Dr. Lockdown” or “Lockdown Amy” during her 2026 campaign for governor, per NBC4 and Signal Ohio.

From Estimate to Shutdown: What Closures Followed

Reading note: these closures were ordered by DeWine and Acton as part of a broader statewide emergency response citing rising case counts and modeling from multiple sources — not solely the 100,000 estimate. This table documents chronological proximity, not stated causation, consistent with the Claim Language Guardrails below.

Date Closure / Restriction Event Connection to the 100,000 Claim Source Source URL
March 12, 2020 — (origin claim) Acton estimates that roughly 1 percent of Ohioans — more than 100,000 people — may already have had COVID-19, based on community-spread modeling. Originating claim. Ohio had five lab-confirmed cases at the time. NBC4 WCMH-TV https:/​/​www.​nbc4i.​com/​community/​health/​coronavirus/​ohio-health-official-estimates-100000-ohioans-already-carrying-coronavirus/​
March 12, 2020 Statewide K-12 school closure At the same press conference, Gov. Mike DeWine announces Ohio K-12 schools — public, private, and charter — will close for at least three weeks beginning March 16. Same day, same press conference as the 100,000 estimate. Not stated by DeWine or Acton as a direct consequence of the estimate. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette https:/​/​www.​post-gazette.​com/​news/​nation/​2020/​03/​12/​Ohio-schools-close-coronavirus-DeWine-spring-break-3-weeks/​stories/​202003120168
March 12, 2020 Gathering ban (100+ people) At the same press conference, Acton issues a director’s order banning gatherings of more than 100 people in a single room or space. Same day, same press conference as the 100,000 estimate. Not stated by DeWine or Acton as a direct consequence of the estimate. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette https:/​/​www.​post-gazette.​com/​news/​nation/​2020/​03/​12/​Ohio-schools-close-coronavirus-DeWine-spring-break-3-weeks/​stories/​202003120168
March 13, 2020 — (clarification) Acton clarifies the 100,000 figure was a “guesstimate” of community spread, not a confirmed case count. One day after the estimate and the closure announcements. The Hill https:/​/​thehill.​com/​homenews/​state-watch/​487534-ohio-official-was-guesstimating-statement-that-100000-people-have/​
March 16, 2020 Bar & restaurant closure Ohio orders bars and restaurants closed to in-house patrons statewide. Four days after the estimate, part of the broader escalation that week. WTOL 11 https:/​/​www.​wtol.​com/​article/​news/​local/​ohio-gov-mike-dewine-orders-all-bars-restaurants-to-temporarily-close-beginning-at-9-pm-sunday/​512-185833fc-8f87-4c26-86b0-02677fee2e14
March 22–23, 2020 Statewide stay-at-home order Acton signs a statewide stay-at-home order, effective 11:59 p.m. March 23 through April 6. Ohio had 351 confirmed cases and three deaths by this point. About ten days after the estimate, as part of Ohio’s broader COVID-19 emergency response. WTRF https:/​/​www.​wtrf.​com/​news/​health/​coronavirus/​health-director-signs-stay-at-home-order-for-all-ohioans/​

Sources & Evidence

Claim Supported Evidence Source Source URL Date Why This Source Matters
Acton emphasized the flu, not COVID, as Ohio’s primary infectious-disease threat in the weeks before Ohio’s first confirmed case. Direct quote: “Statistically, you’re much more likely to get the flu.” NBC4 WCMH-TV https:/​/​www.​nbc4i.​com/​news/​local-news/​coronavirus-declared-class-a-disease-in-ohio-health-chief-warns-flu-is-more-likely/​ January 24, 2020 Establishes the pre-shutdown messaging baseline referenced in the Messaging Timeline.
Acton said roughly 100,000 Ohioans may already have had COVID-19. Report of the same March 12, 2020 press conference, including Acton’s 1-percent community-spread math and the five confirmed cases on record at the time (full quote in “In Amy Acton’s Own Words” above). NBC4 WCMH-TV https:/​/​www.​nbc4i.​com/​community/​health/​coronavirus/​ohio-health-official-estimates-100000-ohioans-already-carrying-coronavirus/​ March 12–13, 2020 Contemporaneous local news report of the original statement, published the same news cycle.
National wire coverage confirmed the 100,000 estimate and framed it as a top health official’s projection, not a case count. Report that state officials confirmed five cases while an official estimated 100,000 undiagnosed cases. Fox News https:/​/​www.​foxnews.​com/​health/​ohio-likely-has-100000-coronavirus-cases-top-health-official-says March 13, 2020 Independent national outlet corroborating the claim and the five-confirmed-case baseline.
Acton clarified the 100,000 figure was a “guesstimate,” not a confirmed count. Report of Acton’s March 13 press conference clarifying the estimate as a “guesstimate” rather than a certain figure (full quote in “In Amy Acton’s Own Words” above). The Hill https:/​/​thehill.​com/​homenews/​state-watch/​487534-ohio-official-was-guesstimating-statement-that-100000-people-have/​ March 13–14, 2020 Mainstream national political outlet documenting the clarification in Acton’s own words.
Acton framed compliance with closures as “a civic duty” as Ohio moved toward a statewide shutdown. Report of the same March 16 press conference where Acton framed compliance in wartime terms and as a civic duty (see Messaging Timeline above for the direct quotes). WTOL 11 https:/​/​www.​wtol.​com/​article/​news/​local/​ohio-gov-mike-dewine-orders-all-bars-restaurants-to-temporarily-close-beginning-at-9-pm-sunday/​512-185833fc-8f87-4c26-86b0-02677fee2e14 March 16, 2020 Local news report of the same press conference announcing the bar/restaurant closure order.
Nearly 700,000 Ohioans filed for unemployment during the early stay-home period. State Department of Job and Family Services data reported via the Associated Press. CBS News / AP https:/​/​www.​cbsnews.​com/​pittsburgh/​news/​nearly-700000-in-ohio-file-for-unemployment-in-just-3-weeks/​ April 9–10, 2020 Official state labor data reported by a national wire service; used as economic context for the same period.